white slim angel

by melonbar92

41130003

1) banana milk. strawberry milk. boonguh bbang. goguma. b-b-big. sometimes when i’m on my way home or i’m walking down the street, i’ll stop by a convenient store or a street vendor and treat myself to one of these things. as i continue on my way, eating my steaming hot boonguh bbang or drinking my strawberry milk through a straw (i always get the straw) i get this feeling of complete contentment and peace, like life just could not get any better than this moment. i don’t know what it is about these seemingly very ordinary moments that touch my soul the way they do, but i think maybe it has something to do with how i feel like i am just totally 100% me in my most natural state of joy during these times.

41130006

2) i don’t usually do this. but i started watching a korean drama. it is called 별에서 온 그대 (you who came from the stars). i started watching it because, even though it’s ended already, it is so so so popular here. also, my sister and john started watching it together and she told me to watch it too so we can talk about it together. so i started it and now i wish that everyone around me was watching it too so we could talk about it (everyone around me, however, has already finished it long ago). i’ll lie in my bed and eat almonds and watch an episode with a dictionary in my hands, looking up words i don’t know. truly a good tool for learning korean. watch a drama.

41130007

3) during a friday prayer meeting at new philadelphia church (the church that i’ve been attending in korea), we spent some time praying for north korea and i found myself crying as i prayed. a couple weeks later, i went to the dmz (the korean demilitarized zone, the border line or buffer zone between north and south korea) and i got to visit an observatory at which i could see north korea from very far away. i felt very sad being so close but knowing that i could not enter. for those of you who don’t know much about north korea, here is an interesting article that i read awhile ago. one day, i hope i can get closer than a binocular’s view.

41130010

4) -in class, discussing great expectations by charles dickens-
miss havisham’s definition of real love: “it is blind devotion, unquestioning self-humiliation, utter submission, trust and belief against yourself and against the whole world, giving up your whole heart and soul to the smiter..”
prof: what do you think? would you girls want someone to love you like this?
all the girls: no no of course not that’s silly no
prof: ah. well. i can relate. because this is how i love my wife.
-class ends-
prof: ok see you next time!

41130023

5) “i do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”
growing a heart of thankfulness one pill at a time.

