i want to hold your hand

by melonbar92

this week for my graphic novel class, we had to make a 9-12 panel comic using the lyrics of a song. the assignment was to take a creative spin on the lyrics and present it in a way that’s different than the original meaning.

i chose the song i want to hold your hand by the beatles. when i asked nadya, “what has hands?” she said, “monkeys. and clocks,” which inspired me to write a love story between a grandfather clock who wants to hold the hands of a grandmother clock.

lyrics included below for those of you who can’t read my loopy, scanned-brighter-than-it-really-is writing. also, impressive clock drawings huh? i never said i was an artist!

(thanks to nadya for inspiring me, lending me her pencil crayons, baking strawberry cupcakes while i did my homework and letting me eat one when i was done. you are the bomb!!)

i wanna hold your hand
oh yeah i’ll tell you something
i think you’ll understand
when i say that something
i wanna hold your hand
i wanna hold your hand
i wanna hold your hand
and when i touch you i feel happy inside
it’s such a feeling that my love
i can’t hide
i can’t hide
i can’t hide
i wanna hold your hand 

